Joining The Fight Against Cancer

FC-1It’s never easy losing someone you love.  But when you watch them suffer.  Needlessly.  And you see first hand mistakes being made in their treatment that should not be?  It is indescribable what that feels like.  Forget loud music and water boarding, just watching someone you love go through cancer, as I did with my mother, is torture.  Living it must be hell.  In all seriousness, I would not wish it on my worst enemy.

So I am developing a documentary and started another website: Coming Together To Fight Cancer (CTTFC).  As an artist and independent filmmaker this is the small way I can try to contribute to the cause of finding a cure and helping people diagnosed with it live better lives.

The efforts I put forth on that site will undoubtedly cut in to the time I spend on this blog.  Though I will add some of the CTTFC content here, I hope you will consider following me on the other site as well.  There are already some great blogs (if I do say so myself 🙂 that you might not want to miss.

The rate of cancer diagnosis has gone from one in twenty, to one in three (one in two for men actually)… I know there are a lot of great organizations and people who have done and are doing great work in terms of promoting awareness and searching for cures.  However, too many of us get up in arms over events or ways of dying that have little probability of hitting us, and than just shrug our shoulders at cancer.

We need to rally around finding a cure for cancer like we do putting an end to gun violence or terrorism.  See this blog on my other site, What If Steve Jobs Was Murdered?

We can do more.  It’s not getting through.  I know I’m not the smartest guy in the room but I hope to be one of the loudest voices that help to wake those in the public and the media that are sleeping.  Together we can rally each other, and the government to do more.  Together, we can join and fight, and one day beat cancer.  The sooner we do it, the sooner we can save hundreds, thousands or even millions of lives.  Are you with me?

fight-cancer

Leave a Reply

